The School of Theatre and Dance offers scholarships in specific areas of Study. Scholarships are announced at the beginning of the Spring semester.

To apply, please go to Academic Works and search by scholarship. You can also view all College of Liberal and Creative Arts scholarships by visiting the LCA website.


These substantial scholarships are for incoming undergraduate transfer students from Laney College pursuing a Theatre Arts degree at SF State. Students retain the scholarship for their two years to degree completion as long as they maintain a minimum 3.0 GPA, keep a full course load and regularly meet with their advisor. Donor to the scholarship, Toni Weingarten, was born in Oakland and took drama classes throughout high school. During that time, she attended a residential summer theatre workshop at SF State. Though she never considered herself an actress, she loved being involved in theatre. Although Ms. Weingarten retired as a television writer and producer, she is currently a local writing instructor and remains active with community theatre.

Clarence Miller Musical Theatre Scholarship

This merit-based scholarship is annually provided to continuing Theatre Arts undergraduate and graduate students of promise in Musical Theatre. The scholarship was originally set up in 1986 upon the generous support of a bequest from the estate of the late Professor Clarence Miller. Clarence Miller was the head of the formerly named Drama Department at SF State in the 1960s. During his tenure, he taught numerous students, spearheaded workshops and directed multiple musical theatre productions.

Dance Scholarship Fund - Susan Whipp Legacy Scholarship

This annual scholarship is awarded to promising dance students in their senior year to assist with educational costs. With support from Dance Professor Emerita, Susan Messner-Whipp, the scholarship honors the legacy of the dance program at SF State with the hopes that honorees continue the rich heritage of artistic excellence, diversity and scholarship in the field that was envisioned at the inception of the Dance BA program. Professor Whipp was an active and beloved faculty member in the Dance Program starting in 1982 and served the University for over thirty years. Her support of the scholarship and the legacy of the Dance Program at SF State has helped countless students with their academic and career paths.

Jules Irving Scholarship

This scholarship in memory of Jules Irving provides financial assistance to Theatre Arts students on an academic path in drama. Student awardees show a high degree of professional promise in theatre. This annual scholarship is merit-based and open to undergraduates and graduate students continuing their education in the School. Jules Irving (1925 – 1979) was an American actor, director, educator, and producer, who in the 1950s co-founded the San Francisco Actor's Workshop.

Elkind Family Scholarship

In memory of Dr. Samuel Elkind, beloved Theater Arts Professor at SF State. Awarded for the fall semester to a graduate or undergraduate student of Theater Arts. Applicants are required to have full-time undergraduate status (12 units or more) or full-time graduate status (8 units or more) in the fall of 2017, and have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.25.

Jim Ponder Scholarship

Targeted to a promising undergraduate/graduate designer/technician in a theatrical design area.